Choose your Hero carefully

One evening at home, I was going through some twitter posts. A tweet caught my eye in which there was a comparison of some personalities between India and Pakistan. Indians like Sundar Pichai (Google CEO), Satya Nadella (Microsoft CEO) are icons for all Indians and indian-origin folks. But in sharp contrast, some of the well-know terrorists were shown in comparision. 

I immediately asked my son to take a look at the post. He did and asked me, 

So you think only Pakistan has bad guys? How about India? Is everyone a good guy in India?

I replied “Not at all! India also has many bad guys. But the difference I guess is that we don’t make them a celebrity.

But then it struck my mind. There lies the difference! Whom do we consider as a hero? Pakistanis celebrate terrorists like Hafiz Saeed who are most wanted terrorists outside of Pakistan. In contrast, Indians always focus on education and educated people. We Indians always stress on studies and become a “buddhijīvī” or intellectual. The result is in front of all of us. The huge difference in the state Pakistan is in as compared to India is a sure reminder for all of us, ‘Choose your Hero carefully!’ Because your heroes define your identity, whether it is at a personal level or at state level. It will define our future generations. 

This entry was posted in History, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment